End of Day 4

Having received advice and reflected upon it, I moved on to the most urgent priority: social engineering. In this case, a Skype call to my teammate, to talk about matters of principle and at least one specific: the GPL. At the end of the call, it was all systems go, in this case setting up infrastructure such as mailing lists, wiki etc. Then, to my surprise, Fedora ambassador Mel Chua asked for my assistance in doing a feature on the CES for opensource.com, which is a website about everything except software. We ended up collaborating on it in Etherpad. I have come across someone using the phrase “open source money”, referring to complementary currencies like Cape Town’s talent, so I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised at Mel’s interest in my client organisation (of which I am also an active and loyal member).

So, as evening drew nigh we adjourned first to the hotel where the facilitators were staying, and then to a Cuban-themed restaurant across town, where we were later joined by Stefano, another Masters student from UCT. The most memorable feature of the evening was the raconteurship of Jan, embracing everything from punchcards to RMS.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

